Christmas Holiday Movie Review – The Classics

This weekend, instead of braving the mall and all it’s frenzied shoppers, I chose to stay in and give myself a little much needed R&R. My adaptation of R&R involves a lot of snacking and a lot of tv watching. Though it may not sound as entertaining to many of you, I get really excited for all the holiday show lineups.

This weekend, I was particularly lucky to stumble upon two classic holiday movies playing (not to mention, right from the start!) — Frosty the Snowman AND Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer!

Now, I’m sure many of you and your families have seen these two movies tons of times (probably at least once a year), but for some reason, I’ve never seen them. As a first time watcher, here’s my take on them.

From Wikimedia

Frosty the Snowman (1969):

This classic was the first one I saw over the weekend. Jimmy Durante lends his voice as the narrator of the story. I loved the retro animation style that they used to draw this cartoon. I don’t know about you, but all the new aged cartoon (with all their fancy 3D features and whatnot) just doesn’t quite measure up to the classics. It’s a lot more rewarding to watch a cartoon where you know every frame was drawn by hand. After playing this classic, the tv station decided to follow up with another adaption of the story called Frosty Returns (1992). I was not impressed by the introduction (and their obvious imitation of the Peanuts)  and quickly changed the channel.

 

From IMDB

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964):

Another classic from the 1960s! I was the most excited to be able to catch this playing on tv. Though I know most of the lyrics of the song by the same name, I never really knew the story of Rudolph. Imagine my surprise when I find out that Rudolph is the son of Donner, one of Santa’s reindeers! Santa isn’t portrayed as the jolly fella he usually is, but instead a cranky old man who probably could use a little R&R. This movie was created by using stop motion, which makes it even more special considering the work it takes to create a whole movie.

All in all, I was extremely impressed with both of these movies. Maybe it’s time to start a new tradition with my family this year to play these movies during the future winter season. I’m sure everyone from all generations will enjoy it as much as I did.

Have you seen these two classics? What do you think of them? Are they a part of your family’s Christmas tradition? Let us know in the comments below!

Leave a comment

Filed under christmas, christmas day, christmas tree, holidays, home, homes, ideas

Leave a Reply

